Free Electrons 2020 opens applications for energy startups

edp news

Free Electrons

Free Electrons 2020 opens applications for energy startups

Monday 25, November 2019

The fourth edition of the Free Electrons program - of which EDP is one the founders - will visit Singapore, Sydney, Sao Paulo and Dubai next year; the final cash prize is worth $200,000.

Applications are open for the 2020 edition of the Free Electrons program - the first global program designed to introduce the world's most promising startups to leading utilities in the energy sector. Scheduled for November, the competition final will be held for the first time in Dubai.

After the application stage, which runs until January 31st, 30 startups will be selected to pitch their ideas and meet with international utilities at a bootcamp to be held in Singapore in March. Only 15 of these 30 teams will go through to the next stage.

As in previous editions, Free Electrons will be divided into three global modules. The first module will be held in Sydney, Australia, in June; the second module will be held in São Paulo, Brazil, in September; and the third and final module will be held in November in Dubai, UAE, where the big winner will be announced and receive a cash prize of $200,000.

Every year Free Electrons receives about 500 applications from startups from all continents which set out to create a pilot project in such areas as mobility, clean energies, smart grids, digitization, and customer services. Over the past three editions, more than 1,000 startups from 65 countries have applied, and nearly $11 million have been invested by these major companies in these startups. 59 pilot projects were created in this year's edition alone.

Free Electrons gives mature energy startups access to global partners that can help them expand into new markets. Together, the 10 energy utilities involved in the program boast about 80 million customers and operate in over 40 countries.

Companies involved in Free Electrons

The founding members of Free Electrons are: Ausnet Services (Australia), DEWA (Dubai), EDP (Portugal), ESB (Ireland), Innogy (Germany), Origin Energy (Australia), SP Group (Singapore) and Tokyo Electric Power Company (Japan). American Electric Power (USA) and CLP (Hong Kong) joined the program in 2018. The Free Electrons program is supported by Portuguese company Beta-i.

For more information: